National Indian Education Association Annual Trade Show and Convention

This year’s National Indian Education Association (NIEA) Convention and Tradeshow will feature eight new strands of focus including Community and Family Engagement, Early Childhood, Health and Wellness (K-12), Higher Education, K-12 Education, Native Charter and Tribal School, Promising Practices and Urban Education.

In a video posted on the convention website NIEA President Mary Jane Oatman Wak Wak said the new strands were developed based on member responses from last year’s event and are intended to “meet your needs around the educational development in your community.”

Annual convention events include a culture night, language revitalization forum, a youth day, a college symposium, a tribal leader’s summit, an awards gala and a social powwow. For a full list of events, visit the convention website.

NIEA Board of Directors elections will also be held during the convention. Nominees include:

Pamela Agoyo, Ohkay Owingeh, Cochiti, and Kewa Pueblos; David Beaulieu, Chippewa; Jimmie C. Begay, Navajo; Timothy Begaye, Navajo; Cheyanne A. Burnette, Apache; Robert B. Cook, Lakota; Charlotte Davidson, Diné/Mandan/Hidatsa/Arikara; Andrew Conseen Duff, Eastern Band of Cherokee; Carol Juneau, Mandan/Hidatsa; Marian Holstein, Winnebago; Nikishna Polequaptewa, Hopi; Daisy Thompson, Navajo; Rick Waters, Kiowa/Cherokee.

For more information on the nominees, visit the NIEA Board of Directors election website.

By ICTMN Staff

View Original Article

Copyright © 2018 | All Rights Reserved
Website Designed by Advancing Communities